International Year of Crystallography



Research button International partnerships button Government partnerships button

ANSTO works in partnerships and collaborative ventures with national and international organisations.  

ANSTO is committed to developing skills and knowledge necessary to bring the full benefit of nuclear technology to Australia. Research is a key contributor to improving Australia's productivity. ANSTO collaborates with other agencies to develop a common understanding of research impact principles

This is done through partnerships that expand Australia’s capacity for engagement in nuclear science and technology and reflect the Federal Government’s Innovation Priorities, which aim to increase Australia’s capacity to create knowledge and enhance skills and technologies. 

Primary partnership

AINSE is the key link between Australasian universities and ANSTO’s state-of-the-art facilities by facilitating and supporting high-quality research, education and training in nuclear science and engineering. Learn more about (AINSE)

Strategic partnership

With our strategic partners, ANSTO has established a framework for cooperation, cultivating long-term institutional co-developments. Our strategic partnerships include:

Australian National University
Australian Synchrotron

Academy partnership  

Partnerships with these non-government organisations are focused on the promotion of scientific and engineering knowledge. Learn more about the Academy of Technological Science and Engineering.

Industry partnerships

ANSTO is also engaged with industry associations. Two of these associations include:

Australian and New Zealand Society for Nuclear Medicine 
Australian Uranium Association 

Regulatory partnerships 

ANSTO’s operation of nuclear (and non-nuclear) facilities and equipment requires close interactions with regulatory bodies, such as:

Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office


Research Partnerships  

With our research partners, we work together in research and education to strengthen Australia’s research. The collaborations include joint research appointments, joint supervision of research students, staff exchange, use of equipment and negotiated arrangements specific to each partner, including joint grant applications, establishments of centres of excellence, and participation in research networks.

Research organisations

Australian Institute for Bioengineering & Nanotechnology 
Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Research Facility 
Collaborating Research Centres

CRC Biomedical imaging development

CRC for Polymers

CRC for integrated Engineering Asset Management

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
European Molecular Biology Laboratory Australia 
Charles Darwin University


Curtin University of Technology University of New South Wales
Flinders University University of Queensland
Macquarie University University of Sydney
Monash University University of Tasmania
National Imaging Facility  University of Technology Sydney
National Measurement Institute University of Western Australia
Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology University of Western Sydney
University of Auckland University of Wollongong 
University of Melbourne


International partnerships  

Agreements with ANSTO’s international partners include exchange of information, staff exchange, cooperative projects, organisation of joint seminars and workshops, access for Australian researchers to large-scale facilities and overseas research programs in view of stimulating joint activities for the advancement of science and engineering and, subsequently, innovation.

Argonne National Laboratory National Central University of Taiwan
Brookhaven National Lab National Institute of Standards and Technology 
European Organisation of Nuclear Research National Nuclear Laboratory
Chinese Academy of Sciences National Research Council of Canada
Commissariat a l’Energie Atomique  National Science Council, Taiwan
Institut de la Radioprotection at sûreté nucléaire Neutron Techniques Standardisation for Structural Integrity
Institut Laue Langevin, Grenoble, France NMI3 – Integrated Infrastructure Initiative for Neutron Scattering and Muon Spectroscopy.
International Atomic Energy Agency Nuclear Energy Corporation of South Africa 
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany Oak Ridge National Lab 
KEK High Energy Research organisation, Japan Paul Scherrer Institute
Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute Riken Spring-8 Centre
Los Alamos National Lab Shanghai Institute of Applied physics 
  Universiti Teknologi Mara, Malaysia  



Government partnerships 

ANSTO has partnerships with a number of governmental bodies and organisations. The main partnerships are:

Department of innovation, Industry, Science, climate change, Research and Tertiary Education 
Department of Environment and Conservation of Western Australia
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Department of Resources Energy and Tourism 
NSW Office of Science and Medical Research 
NSW Office of Environment and Heritage
Sutherland Shire Council