International Small-Angle Scattering Conference


Host & committee


The Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) is proud to be hosting the 2012 international small-angle scattering conference on behalf of the Australian and New Zealand research communities.


ANSTO logo for sponsorshop on conference pages

The Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation, with approximately 1000 employees, is Australia’s national nuclear research and development organisation and the centre of Australian nuclear expertise.
We are an Australian Government agency responsible for delivering specialised advice, scientific services and products to government, industry, academia and other research organisations. Our infrastructure includes OPAL, Australia’s new $400 million nuclear research reactor, the National Deuteration Facility, particle accelerators, radiopharmaceutical production and a range of other unique facilities.
Australia now has two brand-new research facilities, the Australian Synchrotron, a 3GeV machine with nine funded beamlines, and the OPAL Research Reactor, a 20MW beam reactor with a state-of-the-art cold-neutron source and thirteen funded instruments.
Both facilities have state-of-the-art small-angle scattering instruments, with a second (time-of-flight) SANS and USANS instrument currently under design for OPAL.
ANSTO also houses two SAXS instruments, and there are six other lab-based SAXS instruments spread around the country. With Australia’s new state-of-the-art facilities and world class expertise in small-angle scattering of both neutrons and x-rays, it is indeed a timely opportunity to host the 2012 SAS international conference in Australia.

Organising committee:International Advisory Panel
Chair: Elliot GilbertHeinz Amenitsch
Deputy Chair: Tracey HanleyVinod Aswal
 Alvise Benedetti
Scientific Program Committee:Francois Boue
Co-chair: Jill TrewhellaOliver Bunk
Co-chair: Duncan McGillivraySung-Min Choi
Yoshiyuki AmemiyaDaniel Clemens
Julie BorchersYachin Cohen
Sung-Min ChoiCharles Dewhurst
Aldo CraievichKaren Edler
Kees de KruifStefan Egelhaaf
Karen EdlerPeter Fratzl
Andrew JacksonMichihiro Furusaka
Dale SchaeferRalph Gilles
Dmitri SvergunEdy Giri Rachman Putra
Andrew WhittenOtto Glatter
 Gerhard Grübel
National Advisory Committee PanelIan Hamley
Ben BoydBuxing Han
David CooksonCharles Han
Liliana De CampoTakeji Hashimoto
John FosterAbarrul Ikram
Pat HartleyU-Ser Jeng
Anton MiddelbergStephen King
Terry MulhernJoachim Kohlbrecher
John WhitePeter Laggner
Rob WoodwardSubhasish Mazumder
 Narayanan Theyencheri
 Alexander Ozerin
 Jan Skov Pedersen
 Andrei Petukhov
 Moonhor Ree
 Adrian Rennie
 Antony Ryan
 Peter Schurtenberger
 Ritva Serimaa
 Mitsuhiro Shibayama
 Jun-Ichi Suzuki
 Dmitri Svergun
 Iris Torriani
 Nick Terrill
 Naoto Yagi











Host & committee


Programme & speakers 


Prizes awarded


Sponsors and exhibitors


Satellite meetings


Contact us











SAS 2012_event icon


15th International Small-Angle Scattering Conference
18-23 November, 2012, Sydney Australia
Important information: