Sample Environments

 

Welcome to the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering sample environment page. We look after all the sample environment equipment that is available to users.


We have two sample environment laboratories available for use and four sample preparation laboratories. Here is a complete list of all sample environments currently available. 
 

TemperatureMagnetic and Electric FieldsSoft MatterGas and vapourSample mounting 
Closed-cycle refrigeratorsHorizontal magnetsOther sample environmentsPressure devicesSample changers
CryofurnacesVertical magnets Gas and vapour deliverySelecting a cell
CryostatsControlled voltages and current devices  Sample positioning sticks
Furnaces    
Rapid thermal devices    
Temperature baths    
Low temperature inserts    


If you're bringing your own sample environment equipment with you, please let us know so we can ensure that it can easily be mounted to our A-Z systems sample mounting stage. The options for mounting are shown in this drawing and image.  


If you intend to bring any equipment that is either a pressure vessel or a vacuum vessel, we require six weeks notice to get the vessel approved by our pressure approvals officer. Please contact Paolo Imperia if you intend to do this and refer to I-4477
 

For more information on our sample environments, please contact: 

 

Dr Paolo Imperia            
Sample Environment Group Leader
Phone: + 61 (0)2 9717 3330
E-mail: Paolo.Imperia@ansto.gov.au

 

Mr Gene Davidson
Responsibilities: Cryogenic and magnet systems
Phone: + 61 (0)2 9717 9456
E-mail: Gene.Davidson@ansto.gov.au

 

Dr Norman Booth
Responsibilities: Cold neutron instruments, high voltage and unconventional sample environments
Phone: +61 (0)2 9717 7082
E-mail: Norman.Booth@ansto.gov.au

 

Mr Stanley Lee
Responsibilities: High pressure systems and engineering design projects
Phone: +61 (0)2 9717 3387
E-mail: Stanley.Lee@ansto.gov.au

 

Mr Tim D'Adam
Responsibilities: Helium-3 systems and cryogenics
Phone: +61 (0)2 9717 9892
E-mail: timd@ansto.gov.au

 

Dr Deborah Wakeham
Responsibilities: Laboratory manager
Phone: +61 (0)2 9717 7281
E-mail: deborahw@ansto.gov.au

 

Dr Andrew Manning
Responsibilities: Furnaces, gas sorption and desorption
Phone: +61 (0)2 9717 7408
E-mail: Andrew.Manning@ansto.gov.au