ANSTO User Meeting 2017


 AUM2017 Banner

  Contact us





 Arrow Travel



News updates:

Conference details: 

22 - 24 November 2017

Contact details:










Local Travel


Airport Shuttle Services


There are many options available for shuttle buses from the Airport (Tullamarine) to the Australian Synchrotron, some that run only during business hours and others that run 24/7. Please see the list below for some potential options.


South East Airport Shuttle 

Aiport Bus Dandenong 

Airport Bus Eastside 

Skybus Super Shuttle 


Local Public Transport


Ticket information for PTV Buses, trains and trams. You will need to purchase a Myki card if you intend to travel on any Melbourne metro bus, train or tram. A visitor pack can be found here.


Please see the Public Transport Victoria website for more information about public transport in Melbourne



For late night public transport between the City and Clayton, there is a NightRider Bus service that stops close to the Australian Synchrotron. A timetable of this bus can be viewed or downloaded.


Taxi Hire and Driving


Taxi Hire

As an alternative to commuting by public transport, there are taxis readily available for use to destinations all around Melbourne.
Our preferred taxi service is: Platinum Taxi Service (Jimmy) 0412 291 296


Arriving by road


The main roads leading to Melbourne's city centre are the Hume Highway from the north (Albury Wodonga, Yass and Sydney), Western Highway from the west (Adelaide), Princes Highway from the east (Gippsland), and Princes Highway from the south-west (Geelong).


Toll road from Airport and City (CityLink & EastLink)


CityLink is Melbourne’s toll road system that encompasses the Tullamarine Freeway, the Monash Freeway and the EastLink Freeway. Visitors often use these roads without realizing that a toll must be paid. Tolls can be paid over the phone or over the internet.


You can purchase a day pass while driving by calling 13 26 29.


Parking at the Australian Synchrotron


All parking is free of charge.


Overseas Travel


Passport holders of one of the following countries: Brunei/Darussalam, Canada, Hong Kong,
Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, United States can apply for visa using Electronic Travel Authority (ETA, subclass 976) online application with immediate approval. No physical forms required. Apply here.

Passport holders of one of the following countries: France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Republic of San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland need to apply for eVisitor visa (subclass 651), please follow the instructions here.

Passport holders of all the other countries will need to apply for Visitor Visa (subclass 600). You
will need an invitation letter which we can provide once your abstract is approved or registration is paid in full. Please follow the instructions here.


ANSTO has no influence over the granting of an application and is unable to expedite the process, the processing of a visa application for entry to Australia can be a lengthy process, therefore you are encouraged to make arrangements to lodge your visa application as soon as possible.


ICRS_flight map




Please note that registration fees do not include insurance of any kind. It is strongly recommended that at the time you register for the ANSTO User Meeting and book your travel you take out an insurance policy of your choice.


Information provided on this page is a guideline only it is the responsibility of the delegate to ensure they are applying for the correct entry visa.