Dr Liliana de Campo

Instrument Scientist
Dr Liliana de Campo


Role at ANSTO

Liliana recently joined us as an instrument scientist for our new SANS/USANS instruments BILBY and KOOKABURRA
Her research interests lie mostly in the area of soft condensed matter, with focus on liquid crystalline, multi-compartment and hierarchically structured materials. 

Qualifications and Achievements

  • PhD in Physical Chemistry from the University of Graz, Austria (2004)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow at Sydney University (Dept. of Chemistry, 2005-2006)
  • Research Fellow at ANU (Dept. of Applied Maths, 2006-2014)

Committees, Affiliations & Memberships

Visiting Scientist at ANU.

Selected publications

M. J. Moghaddam, L. de Campo, M. Hirabayashi, P. A. Bean, L. J. Waddington, J. A. Scoble, G. Coia, C. J. Drummond. Gadolinium-DTPA amphiphile nanoassemblies: agents for magnetic resonance imaging and neutron capture therapy. Biomaterials Science 2, 924-935 (2014)
A. Gupta, T. Stait-Gardner, L. de Campo, L. J. Waddington, N. Kirby, W. S. Price, M. J. Moghaddam, Nanoassemblies of Gd–DTPA–monooleyl and glycerol monooleate amphiphiles as potential MRI contrast agents. Journal of Materials Chemistry B 2, 1225-1233 (2014)
J. J. Kirkensgaard, M. E. Evans, L. de Campo, S. T. Hyde, Hierarchical self-assembly of a striped gyroid formed by threaded chiral mesoscale networks. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 111, 1271-1276 (2014)
G. E. Schroder-Turk, L. de Campo, M. E. Evans, M. Saba, S. C. Kapfer, T. Varslot, K. Grosse-Brauckmann, S. Ramsden, S. T. Hyde, Polycontinuous geometries for inverse lipid phases with more than two aqueous network domains. Faraday Discussions 161, 215-247 (2013)
L. de Campo, O. Delgado-Friedrichs, S. T. Hyde, M. O'Keeffe, Minimal nets and minimal minimal surfaces. Acta Crystallographica A 69, 483-489 (2013)
M. J. Moghaddam, L. de Campo, N. Kirby, C. J. Drummond, Chelating DTPA amphiphiles: ion-tunable self-assembly structures and gadolinium complexes. Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics 14, 12854-12862 (2012)
L. de Campo, T. Varslot, M. J. Moghaddam, J. J. K. Kirkensgaard, K. Mortensen, S. T. Hyde, A novel lyotropic liquid crystal formed by triphilic star-polyphiles: hydrophilic/oleophilic/fluorophilic rods arranged in a 12.6.4. tiling. Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics 13, 3139-3152 (2011)
G. E. Schroeder-Turk, T. Varslot, L. de Campo, S. C. Kapfer, W. Mickel, A Bicontinuous Mesophase Geometry with Hexagonal Symmetry. Langmuir 27, 10475-10483 (2011)
S. T. Hyde, L. de Campo, C. Oguey, Tricontinuous mesophases of balanced three-arm 'star polyphiles'. Soft Matter 5, 2782-2794 (2009).
A. Yaghmur, L. de Campo, L. Sagalowicz, M. E. Leser, O. Glatter, Control of the internal structure of MLO-based isasomes by the addition of diglycerol monooleate and soybean phosphatidylcholine. Langmuir 22, 9919-9927 (2006)
A. Yaghmur, L. de Campo, L. Sagalowicz, M. E. Leser, O. Glatter, Emulsified microemulsions and oil-containing liquid crystalline phases. Langmuir 21, 569-577 (2005)
L. de Campo, A. Yaghmur, L. Sagalowicz, M. E. Leser, H. Watzke, O. Glatter, Reversible phase transitions in emulsified nanostructured lipid systems. Langmuir 20, 5254-5261 (2004)
L. de Campo, A. Yaghmur, N. Garti, M. E. Leser, B. Folmer, O. Glatter, Five-component food-grade microemulsions: structural characterization by SANS. Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 274, 251-267 (2004)