Dr Robert Robinson

Institute Head
Bragg Institute
Phone - +61 2 9717 9204


Role at ANSTO


Dr Rob Robinson received a PhD in experimental physics from Cambridge University in 1982. He then moved to Los Alamos National Laboratory in the United States to carry out postdoctoral research, and was a staff member there between 1985 and 1999. He has also spent time as a visiting scientist at the Institut Laue-Langevin (1984), the Japanese National Laboratory for High-Energy Physics (1992), and the Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (1994). He has been a fellow of the American Physical Society since 1998.  Between 2013 and 2015, he was President of the Australian Institute of Physics.


In December 1999 he moved to ANSTO to become leader of the Neutron Scattering and Synchrotron Radiation Group, and he has also been an Adjunct Professor in both the School of Physics at the University of New South Wales and the Faculty of Science at Sydney University. He is Immediate Past President and a fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics.  He was Head of the Bragg Institute, from its inception in December 2002, until 2016. 


Rob's main research activities have been in condensed-matter physics. His current research interests include strongly correlated f-electron systems magnetism in uranium intermetallics, molecular magnets, the dynamics of amorphous materials and neutron-scattering instrumentation.


Selected publications

D. H. Yu, R. A. Mole, T. Noakes, S. J. Kennedy and R. A. Robinson, Pelican – a Time of Flight Cold Neutron Polarization Analysis Spectrometer at OPAL, J. Phys. Soc. Japan 82 SA027 (2013).


Z. Boekelheide, T. Saerbeck, A. P. J. Stampfl, R. A. Robinson, D. A. Stewart, and F. Hellman, Antiferromagnetism in Cr3Al and relation to semiconducting behavior, Phys. Rev. B 85, 094413 (2012).


D. H. Yu, J. Duriavig, N. Loh, R. Woodward, H. J. Lin, F. H. Chang, S. H. Kilcoyne, A. Stampfl, and R. A. Robinson, Investigation of field-induced ferromagnetism in Pd-Ni-Fe-P metallic glass by x-ray magnetic circular dichroism, Appl. Phys. Lett. 94, 022502 (2009).


D. M. Pooke, V. Chamritski, M. Fee, S. Gibson, B. T. King, J. L. Tallon, M. Meissner, R. Feyerherm, S. R. Olsen, S. J. Kennedy, and R. A. Robinson, HTS 5 Tesla Synchrotron and Neutron Beamline Magnets, IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond., 19, 1372-1375 (2009).


D. H. Yu, M. R. Fitzsimmons, E. P. Gilbert, R. C. Woodward, S. H. Kilcoyne, and R. A. Robinson, Neutron depolarization studies of Pd-Ni-Fe-P alloy, Physica B 397, 30-32 (2007).


R. A. Robinson, D. J. Goossens, M. S. Torikachvili, K. Kakurai and H. Okumura, A Quantum Multi-Critical Point in CeCu6-xAux, Physica B 385-386, 38-40 (2006).


"The Instrument Suite for OPAL, the Australian Replacement Research Reactor: - Lessons from and for the Spallation Sources" R. A. Robinson, in Proceedings of ICANS-XVII, Santa Fe, NM, USA, 25-29 April 2005, Los Alamos Report LA-UR-06-3904, Vol. III, pp 1002-1008 (2006).


"Magnetic structures in UCuSn", S. El-Khatib, A. Llobet, A. Purwanto, R. A. Robinson, S. H. Lee, J. W. Lynn, S. Chang, and H. Nakotte, J. Appl. Phys. 9, 704 (2006).


"The Antiferromagnetic Structure of BaPrO3", D. J. Goossens, R. A. Robinson and M. T. F. Telling, Physica B 352, 105-110 (2004).


"Neutron Scattering at Australia's Replacement Research Reactor",R. A. Robinson and S. J. Kennedy, Physica B 311, 44-49 (2002).


"A Low-Temperature Study of the Crystal Structure of Mn12 Acetate", P. A. Langan, R. A. Robinson, P. J. Brown, D. N. Argyriou, D. N. Hendrickson and G. Christou, Acta Cryst. C 57, 909-910 (2001).


"Neutron Scattering at Australia's Replacement Research Reactor", S. J. Kennedy, R. A. Robinson and B. A. Hunter, J. Phys. Soc. Japan 70, Suppl. A 567-570 (2001).