Community tours 

 

Your Invited banner 2014
You’re invited to go behind the scenes at ANSTO and see the instruments scientists use to improve our health, understand our environment and develop new solutions for industry. 
 
For all booking enquiries call the Discovery Centre on (02) 9717 3090 or email tours@ansto.gov.au.
 

How to book a tour Information on attending a tour Testimonials HIFAR tours

 

Available tours

 
Up and Atom tours

This tour offers a fun and interactive introductory experience with games and experiments suitable for primary school aged students and their parents. 
Audience: Children aged 8-13 years and their parents
Duration: 2 hours
 
Tour Timetable 2018

Date: Monday April 23
Time: 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm (Bookings)

Date: Tuesday April 24
Time: 10:00 am - 12:00 pm (Bookings)

 
Next Gen STEM Careers tours

A careers day focusing on the diverse career pathways inside a major scientific and engineering facility. A panel of scientists will be on hand to answer questions and discuss the interesting and various career pathways they took to arrive at ANSTO.
Audience: Adults and children 14 years plus
Duration: 3 hours
  
Tour Timetable 2018

Date: Thursday April 26
Time: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm (Bookings)

Date: Thursday July 19
Time: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm (Bookings)

Date: Thursday October 11
Time: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm (Bookings)
 
 
Science Discovery tours

This tour provides an in depth look into the world of nuclear science and the work ANSTO does in the areas of health, the environment and delivering solutions for industry. 
 
Audience: Adults and children 14 years plus
Duration: 2.5 hours
 
Tour Timetable 2018
Date: Saturday February 10
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday February 24
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday March 10
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday April 14
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Friday April 27
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday May 12
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday May 26
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday June 16
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday June 30
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday July 14
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday July 28
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday August 25
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday September 15
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday September 29
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday October 13
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday October 27
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday November 10
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
Date: Saturday November 24
Time: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm (Bookings)
   

 

HIFAR Heritage Week tours

 
Visitors will step inside HIFAR, Australia's first nuclear reactor, as well as OPAL, ANSTO's new state-of-the-art research reactor. This two part tour will provide a picture of the amazing advancements made in nuclear science, and an insight to what might be possible in the future. 
 
Audience: Adults and children 12 years plus
Duration: 2.5 hours
 
Tour Timetable 2018
Date: Monday April 16
Time: 10:00 am - 1.30 pm (Bookings)

Date: Monday April 16
Time: 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm (Bookings)

Date: Tuesday April 17
Time: 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm (Bookings)
Date: Thursday April 19
Time: 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm (Bookings)
Date: Friday April 20
Time: 1.30 pm - 4:00 pm (Bookings)
 

 

Custom tours for large groups

Tours can be booked for large groups (12 or more people) Monday to Friday, subject to availability. 

Audience: Adults and children 8 years plus
Duration: 2.5 hours
When: Contact the Discovery Centre with your preferred dates