Skip to main content
aum atom

ANSTO User Meeting 2023 - Awards

You are invited to submit to the various awards from ANSTO, Australian Synchrotron User Advisory Committee (UAC) and Australian Neutron Beam Users Group (ANBUG).  Please see below for more information.

Combined Logo

ANSTO Awards

Student Poster Prizes

The prizes are awarded to the best posters presented by a student at the meeting. The winner will be selected by a judging panel after reviewing student posters. All student posters presented at the meeting are automatically eligible for this prize. There are 4 prizes of a $250 gift card, one for each research conducted utilising each of the four platforms:

  • Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering
  • Australian Synchrotron
  • Centre for Accelerator Science
  • National Deuteration Facility

Poster Slam

The Student Poster Slam is a special session in which students are given the opportunity to showcase to all delegates at the meeting in a 1-minute presentation. The winner of the Poster Slam will receive a prize of a $250 gift card.

Australian Synchrotron

Australian Synchrotron Award

Stephen Wilkins Thesis Medal

This medal is awarded annually to the PhD student at an Australian or New Zealand University who is judged to have completed the most outstanding thesis of the past two years whose work was undertaken at and acknowledges the Australian Synchrotron, or the Australian National Beamline Facility (ANBF), or whose work acknowledges and was undertaken under the auspices of the International Synchrotron Access Program (ISAP) or the Australian Synchrotron Research Program (ASRP).

For More Information


Applications Close Friday 15 September 2023


Australian Synchrotron Research Award

For outstanding research performed at the Australian Synchrotron by an early-career scientist.

Awarded annually to a researcher with (as of November 30 of the relevant year) up to 10 years full-time equivalent career experience since graduating from their PhD (career interruptions will be considered). The awardee will have demonstrated significant research outcomes from the Australian Synchrotron evidenced by their publication record and international standing within their field.

The application will consist of:

  • Completed application form
  • 2 page Curriculum Vitae

The award will consist of a framed certificate and a prize of $1000 (with additional travel support of up to $500 to attend the ANSTO User Meeting - AUM203 in person). In applying for the award, the applicant agrees to be available to present a talk on their research during a plenary session at the ANSTO User Meeting - AUM2023.    

Self-nominations are allowed.

Application Form


Applications Close Monday 18 September 2023

ACNS Infrastructure

ANBUG Awards

ANBUG is pleased to recognise the achievements of its members via annual awards in the following areas:

ANBUG Career Award

 The ANBUG Career Award is for sustained contribution throughout the recipient’s career to a scientific subfield, or subfields, using neutron scattering techniques. The prize is a $500 gift card.

ANBUG Neutron Award 

The ANBUG Neutron Awards is for outstanding research in neutron science and leadership promoting the Australian neutron scattering community (>10 years post PhD). The prize is a A$250 gift card.

ANBUG Young Scientist Award

The ANBUG Young Scientist Award is for outstanding research utilising neutron scattering by scientists within 10 years of PhD conferral when accounting for significant career breaks. The prize is a A$250 gift card.

ANBUG Technical Award 

The ANBUG Technical Award is for outstanding service contributing to technical aspects of neutron scattering by university / institute staff or a beamline scientist. It is likely, but not mandatory, that it will be awarded to those who are traditionally not eligible for the other ANBUG awards, from areas such as engineering, sample environment, workshops or instrument staff that have gone above and beyond to facilitate your beam time from a technical perspective. The prize is a A$250 gift card

ANBUG Outstanding PhD Prize 

The ANBUG Outstanding PhD Prize is for a PhD thesis on research using neutron scattering techniques submitted to a university in Australia or New Zealand after 1st January the year prior to the award year (i.e., 1st January 2022 for the 2023 award). The prize is a A$250 gift card.


The call for nominations is now open.  Please refer to the nomination form, and forward nominations to the ANBUG Secretary ( by 5 pm 1st October 2023. 

Applications Close 5 pm Sunday 1st October 2023 

In applying for the award, the applicant agrees to be available to present a talk on their research at the ANSTO User Meeting - AUM2023.    

Nomination Form