Skip to main content

AMSI Board welcomes Prof Andrew Peele

Director of the Australian Synchrotron Prof Andrew Peele has been appointed to Australian Mathematical Sciences Board.

ANSTO Australian Synchrotron Director, Professor Andrew Peele has added to his distinguished list of affiliations with an appointment to the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI) Board.

Prof Andrew Peele

AMSI is the collaborative enterprise of Australia’s mathematical sciences. It exists to give independence to disciplines and provide infrastructure so that it can take initiatives on the national and international stage. These measures fall largely into three classes including research and higher education, school education and engagement with the industrial and commercial world.

Professor Peele is one of five new appointees to the AMSI Board, who bring a rich mix of expertise and broad mathematical experience.

“I am really pleased to take up this appointment with AMSI as it highlights the crucial role of mathematics across the spectrum of sciences and forms a strong, reliable base to drive innovation in Australia.” he said.

Professor Andrew Peele was appointed Director of ANSTO’s Australian Synchrotron in November 2013. He is also an adjunct Professor of Physics at La Trobe with previous roles including post-doctoral research at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Centre and as a qualified lawyer.

Andrew’s research improves the versatility and quality of x-ray imaging, including new methods in phase imaging and coherent diffractive imaging with applications such as tomographic imaging of cells and materials. He has published over 100 refereed articles and has an extensive track record of grant success including in two Australian Research Council Centres of Excellence. 

Andrew is the immediate past President of the Australian Institute of Physics and of the Asia Oceania Forum for Synchrotron Radiation Research. He also serves as a board member for the Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering and on several advisory boards, including for international synchrotron facilities, the La Trobe Institute for Molecular Sciences, Monash Biomedical Imaging and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Flexible Low-Energy Electronic Technologies. 



FacilitiesAustralian Synchrotron