Skip to main content
Hero banner

Dr Anton Tadich

Dr Anton Tadich
Dr Anton Tadich
Senior Scientist, Soft X-ray Spectroscopy Beamline

Role at ANSTO

Dr Anton Tadich is a Senior Beamline Scientist at the Soft X-ray Beamline, Australian Synchrotron. Alongside his beamline colleagues, Anton is responsible for the training and management of visiting scientists at the beamline, as well as the maintenance and development of beamline instrumentation and techniques. Anton has significant expertise in synchrotron-based photoelectron spectroscopy, vacuum instrumentation and surface science techniques, and is an expert in the application of these tools to investigate the chemical and electronic structure of low dimensional condensed matter systems such as surface-transfer doped diamond, 2D materials, transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDs) and topological insulators/semimetals. Anton is a national expert in the technique of Angle Resolved Photoelectron Spectroscopy (ARPES) for measuring electronic bandstructure, and he is responsible for managing ANSTO’s only ARPES detector, a toroidal electron spectrometer, based at the Soft X-ray Beamline.

Anton is an active researcher within the condensed matter physics community and maintains a number of collaborations with local and international research groups. He is a Partner Investigator with the ARC Centre of Excellence in Future Low Energy Electronics (FLEET,  


Angle-resolved photoelectron spectroscopy (ARPES),X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), Near Edge X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (NEXAFS), surface science, Low Energy Electron Diffraction (LEED), molecular beam epitaxy (MBE), 2D Materials (graphene, phosphorene), single crystal surfaces, topological materials (insulators, Dirac semi metals), ultra-high vacuum instrumentation and technique 

Qualifications & Achievements 

  • PhD in Physics (Angle Resolved Photoelectron Spectroscopy, La Trobe University, 2008)
  • First Class Honours in Physics (La Trobe University, 2000)
  • David Myers Scholar (La Trobe University, 2001 – 2008)
  • David Myers University Medallist(La Trobe University, 2000)

Committees, Affiliations & memberships

  • Partner Investigator, Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Future Lowe Energy Electronics Technologies (FLEET)
  • Honorary Lecturer, Department of Physics, La Trobe University (2008 – Current)
  • Organising Committee, 2024 Australian Institute of PhysicsCongress
  • Scientific Program Committee Member, 2023 ANSTO User Meeting
  • Victorian Branch Chair, Australian Institute of Physics (2017 – 2018)
  • Vice President, Vacuum Society of Australia (2017 – 2019)

ORCID: 0000-0001-9455-5901

Scopus Reference ID: 6505940802