Skip to main content
ANSTO Uni Singapore Agreement

ANSTO and the University of Singapore sign Australian Synchrotron Agreement

ANSTO and the National University of Singapore have signed an agreement to enable Singapore researchers to access ANSTO’s state-of-the-art beamline facilities at the Australian Synchrotron.

The agreement was formally signed at a ceremony in Canberra on Monday, 17 October, by ANSTO CEO Shaun Jenkinson and Prof. Chen Tsuhan, Deputy President, Research and Technology, National University of Singapore prior to the 7th Australia-Singapore Leaders’ Meeting on the following day.

Singapore agreement 2
(Left to right) Prof Mark Breese, Director of the Singapore National Synchrotron Programme; Prof. Andrew Peele, Group Executive NST and Director of the Australian Synchrotron, ANSTO; Dr Richard Garrett, Senior Adviser Strategic Projects, ANSTO; The Hon Ed Husic MP, Minister for Industry and Science; Shaun Jenkinson, CEO ANSTO; Prof Chen Tsuhan, Deputy President of research and Technology, University of Singapore; Gan Kim Yong, Minister for Trade and Industry; Dr Jasbir Singh, Director of the Government Scientific Advisors Office, National Research Foundation; Oh Ren Min, Assistant Head of Urban Solutions and Sustainability, National Research Foundation; Dr Michael James, Senior Principal Scientist, ANSTO

Funded by the National Research Foundation and operated by the National University of Singapore, the five-year agreement with ANSTO is the first partnership supported by Singapore’s International Synchrotron Access initiative under its newly launched National Synchrotron Program.

Attending the ceremony with Singapore’s Minister for Trade and Industry, Gan Kim Yong, Minister for Industry and Science, the Hon Ed Husic MP welcomed the bilateral agreement as a collaborative opportunity to advance Australia’s and Singapore’s science and research communities.

SAXS WAXS beamline
The agreement will give researchers in Singapore access to the beamlines of the Australian Synchrotron. Pictured Dr Susi Seibt and Dr Nigel Kirby on the SAXS./WAXs beamline

Prof. Andrew Peele, Group Executive, Nuclear Science and Technology and Director of the Australian Synchrotron, Dr Richard Garrett, Senior Adviser Synchrotron Science, and Dr Michael James, Senior Principal Scientist, attended the event with other Singaporean dignitaries.

“ANSTO’s Australian Synchrotron is one of the largest and most significant standalone pieces of scientific infrastructure in the southern hemisphere, making groundbreaking contributions to Australia’s scientific research endeavours,” said Professor Peele said.

“This new partnership will enable greater access to our world-class infrastructure and, importantly, encourage collaboration with our world-class scientists to enable essential research and deliver strong outcomes for both nations’ scientific research capabilities.”

Read more on the University of Singapore website.

The event was also reported in the media:

An Interview with Dr Jasbir Singh on Channel News Asia
An article in the Straits Times