Skip to main content
Hero banner

Dr. Jitraporn (Pimm) Vongsvivut

Beamline Scientist – Infrared Microspectroscopy (IRM)
Dr. Jitraporn (Pimm) Vongsvivut
Senior Beamline Scientist – Infrared Microspectroscopy (IRM)

Role at ANSTO

Dr Jitraporn (Pimm) Vongsvivut is one of the beamline scientists at Infrared Microspectroscopy (IRM) beamline, Australian Synchrotron (part of ANSTO). She is an experienced physical chemist with the main research interest focused on development of state-of-the-art vibrational spectroscopic techniques and chemometric approaches, which she has applied for both qualitative and quantitative analyses across multiple research disciplinary. She is an experienced user of synchrotron-FTIR techniques at the NSLS, SOLEIL, DIAMOND and Australian Synchrotron. Since becoming the beamline scientist at Australian Synchrotron in March 2015, she has developed two new ATR devices at the IRM beamline including soft-contact piezo-controlled mini-ATR and in-house macro-ATR, which have been effectively applied for a diverse range of user research. She has published numerous papers as primary and co-authors in international and high-impact journals as part of her PhD and via collaborative projects and has assisted with many experiments and beamline developments as part of her role at the Australian Synchrotron.



  • Advanced synchrotron‐IR and vibrational (IR/Raman) microspectroscopy.
  • Data analysis using CytoSpec & Unscrambler™ (multivariate data analysis), MATLAB® (optical theories and ray-tracing), and Gaussian 03 (density functional theory calculation and molecular simulation).


Qualifications & Achievements


  • 1995 – 1999: BSc (Hons) Chemistry from Chulalongkorn University (Bangkok, Thailand)
  • 1999 – 2005: PhD (Physical Chemistry) from Chulalongkorn University (Bangkok, Thailand)
  • 2000 – 2002: PhD research program at Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY, USA)
  • 2003 – 2004: PhD research program at Kwansei-Gakuin University (Gakuen, Sanda, Japan)
  • 2005 – 2006: RIKEN Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Probing Technology Laboratory, RIKEN (Saitama, Japan)
  • 2006 – 2010: RIRDC Research Fellow at Centre for Biospectroscopy, Monash University (Victoria, Australia)
  • 2010 – 2015: Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Centre for Biospectroscopy, Monash University (Victoria, Australia)
  • 2015 – present: Beamline scientist (IRM) at Australian Synchrotron (Victoria, Australia)


  • Basic Research Grant from Thailand Research Fund (TRF) 150,000 THB (Reference No. BGJ/36/2543) “Surface-Enhanced Fourier Transform Infrared (FTIR) Spectroscopy for Microanalysis”.
  • ARC-LIEF Grant $240,000 AUD (ID. LE120100166) “Infrared and Raman Microspectroscopic Equipments for Biomolecular and Nanostructural Analysis”.
  • Alfred Deakin Start-up Fund $20,000 AUD (Project ID. RM22134) “Development of Synchrotron‐IR and Vibrational Microspectroscopic Techniques for Early Detection of Diseases and Trace Chemical Analysis”.
  • Deakin New Initiatives Fund for Equipment and Minor Research $8,000 AUD “Surface-Enhanced Raman Scattering (SERS) Spectroscopy”.


Committees, Affiliations & memberships 

  • Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE) Honours and Postgraduate Supervisor