Skip to main content
Hero banner

Dr Josie Auckett

Dr Josie Auckett
Dr Josie Auckett
Beamline Scientist – Advanced Diffraction & Scattering

Role at ANSTO

Dr Josie Auckett is a beamline scientist for the Advanced Diffraction and Scattering (ADS-1 & ADS-2) beamlines at the Australian Synchrotron which are being built as part of the BRIGHT project at the Australian Synchrotron. She is currently involved with the design and scoping of the beamline endstation components, and will assist with commissioning activities and user experiment support once the beamline is active.


Dr Auckett’s research interests concern the relationships between atomic structure and macroscopic functionality in solid inorganic materials, especially those with applications relevant to energy conversion and storage. Prior to joining the Australian Synchrotron, she held a Newton International Fellowship at Durham University, UK, where she specialised in optical floating-zone growth of oxide ionic-conductive crystals and their characterisation using x-ray and neutron crystallography. She also completed a postdoctoral position at the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, combining various in situ experimental and theoretical studies of porous framework materials for gas separation and storage applications.


Crystallography, x-ray and neutron scattering, solid-state chemistry, floating-zone crystal growth, gas sorption in porous frameworks


Qualifications & Achievements

  • British Crystallographic Association Physical Crystallography Prize (2020) 
  • Newton International Fellowship held at Durham University, UK (2018-2020)
  • Post-Doctoral position at the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering (2015-2018)
  • PhD in Solid-State Chemistry, The University of Sydney (2015)
  • Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE) Postgraduate Research Award (2012-2015)
  • BSc(Adv)(Hons) with University Medal, The University of Sydney (2011)


Committees, Affiliations & memberships

  • Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand (SCANZ)
  • British Crystallographic Association (BCA)
  • Australian Neutron Beam Users’ Group (ANBUG)
  • Programme Committee member, CRYSTAL31 conference, 2017