Skip to main content
Staff Profile Image

Dr Hal Lee

Leader of the Helium-3 Polarisation Project

Role at ANSTO

Hal leads the Institute's Helium-3 Polarisation Project. The project will bring polarised Helium-3 based neutron polarisers and analysers to several new instruments, including PELICAN, PLATYPUS, QUOKKA, WOMBAT, SIKA and TAIPAN. His research interests are in the areas of polarised Helium-3 application in neutron scattering works, magnetic thin film physics, magnetic structures and magnetic excitations in materials, and high-resolution measurement techniques in biology and chemistry.

His technical expertise includes polarised Helium-3 production and the application to neutron scattering work, polarised neutron scattering (reflectometry, inelastic scattering, diffraction), instrumentation (spin-echo resolved grazing-incident scattering, reflectometer, neutron optics and guides, self-shielded asymmetric high-field superconducting magnets, Monte-Carlo simulation of neutron scattering instruments), neutron interferometry, and UHV thin-film deposition and characterisation techniques.

Qualifications and Achievements

  • 40+ refereed research articles in scientific journals and 1 book chapter;
  • 60+ presentations in conferences and workshops, including invited talks on polarised Helium-3 R&D and polarised neutron scattering work;
  • Co-chaired International Conference on Polarized Neutrons in Condensed Matter Investigations 2004;
  • Led teams to develop hybrid asymmetric magnet, spin+/spin- switchable polarised Helium-3 based neutron spin filter, split-beam Littrow cavity for high-power laser spectrum narrowing. Developed polarised neutron reflectometry technique to measure magnetic domain dispersion, Monte Carlo simulation software for neutron scattering instrumentation Design "IDEAS";
  • Jointly developed successful Small Business Innovation Research Grant (US DOE) applications with R&D companies in the development of superconducting magnets (2005) and large capacity polarised Helium-3 filling station (2008, 2009);
  • Ph.D. in Physics, University of Missouri-Columbia, 1998.